What’s on my iPod?

Recently I’ve been listening to a lot of Foden’s Band CD. Hailing from South Cheshire and spending a lot of my banding years in and around Sandbach, Foden’s should – in all probability – feature higher up my list of bands I listen to. 

Yet it’s only recently they have. And I’m glad they now do. A couple of cheap eBay purchases of CDs from their Patrons Choice range, added to a few earlier volumes I already own mean I now have a wide range of their recordings. However, as my own musical tastes change (I much prefer major work discs to ‘in concert’ items) it is their CD Masquerade that I find myself returning to. Partita by Heaton and the title track (another stoned from Wilby) are worth the price alone on what is a quite stunning CD. In fact, I think I would go as far as saying it’s up there with YBS’ ‘Music of the Spheres’ disc in my all-time favourite major works discs. 

I’m already awaiting Foden’s next disc!

Leave a Reply

