The dream

ArleySummer2011
Copyright arleystation.org.uk

If space and budget was no option the dream layout would be a station that is, now I’ve relocated, not a million miles away from me; Arley Station on the SVR.

It has a lot going for it. Firstly, the picture postcard location. It’s beautiful. The sloping, flower surrounded path on the platform for trains heading to Bridgnorth is rather splendid. The station building is imposing yet charming and the station is kept in excellent condition, with plenty of little details that are crying out to be modelled. There is a couple of sidings that adds shunting potential and play value, as well as the chance to model long trains – something space has never allowed me to do previously.

Amy and myself have often discussed future home plans (one step at a time though, we get married this summer) and I have been allowed a ‘man shed.’ Although this is mainly to get my train stuff out of the house it would also mean I have the space to build something such as Arley.

This is very much something I would see as a long term project. My first baby-steps would be to mock up some plans. The over bridge just south of the station is an obvious scenic break heading towards Kidderminster but the northern end would pose more problems.

Whether Arley will ever properly take off, I don’t know. However, it will remain a dream – my ‘forever’ layout.

 

Leave a Reply

